Berwick upon Tweed History Society

Projects that Berwick History Society have been involved in.

The Berwick History Society is proud of the involvement and working partnership it has had with numerous community groups and organisations to promote the history of Berwick.

Below are just some of the projects with more projects to follow.....

   Many references below are from the Berwick Advertiser, they provide a summary along with the historical details.


A community celebration of 1000 years of Berwick-upon-Tweed has been organised by  Tweed 1000 committee. The following summary has been taken from their website.
The Battle of Carham took place in 1018. An Anglo-Saxon army was defeated by invading Scottish Armies. The victorious Scots created the Tweed borderline between the nations of Scotland and Northumbria.
Centuries of conflict followed and the town exchanged hands no less than 13 times before finally settling into England in 1482. Click on the links to find out more about the two specific projects commemorating this event.
The Tweed 1000 Tapestry and Living History Weekend. For full details please email

  Berwick Heritage Hub

A working party has been set up to look at creating a Berwick Heritage Hub at the Berwick Barracks. A recent Berwick Advertiser article provides further details of plans and proposals. The scheme is estimated to cost £15 million and the group were delighted to receive a £48,000 grant for a feasibility study from the Government's Coastal Revival Scheme.

Sir Phiilp Mawer spoke to the History Society on 11th October 2017 attached is a summary of this talk.


Nine centuries ago, King David of Scotland named Berwick-upon-Tweed as one of his two Royal Burghs. In 2015 Berwick is celebrating its 900-year story – and everyone’s invited. Throughout the year, special Berwick 900 events focused on different aspects of the town’s story.
Many of Berwick’s regular festivals and events had a historic theme in 2015, the project not only celebrated Berwick's history but brought together it's community.
For full details see the Berwick 900 website.

Please contact Derek Sharman, Chairman, Berwick 900 Working Group 50 Dean
Drive, Tweedmouth, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 2DQTel: 01289 330218 Email: Please see the website for further details. 

Images kindly provided by Kate Morison
The Berwick Parks Project was set up to improve two parks in Berwick upon Tweed; Castle Vale Park and Coronation Park. Investment from The Heritage Lottery Fund and The Big Lottery enabled the reinvigoration of these two gems.The parks sit on either side of Berwick's train station and contain a wealth of heritage and natural history.  They contain excellent views of the remains of Berwick Castle, which were partly demolished to make way for the East Coast Mainline in the 1840s.

Regulars walks and activities take place so for more informtion:
Contact Kate Morison to arrange guided walks and updates on the plans for Coronation and Castle Vale Parks
Please see the link to the website for more information

   To mark the 500th anniversary of the Battle of Flodden the Flodden 1513 Ecomuseum was created alongside the Flodden 1513 prject. Further details can be found here.
 Flodden 1513 summary of events.pdf 

  In association with Cittaslow Berwick-upon-Tweed, Mouth of the Tweed is proposing to develop a Food Heritage Art Trail linked to sites and buildings in Berwick, Tweedmouth and Spittal that have associations with our heritage of producing and processing food and drink, in the past and the present.
A working group. has been set up to take this forward if you are interested please contact us
Click on the above link for full details underthe heading  News &Events

Illuminations of the Royal Border Bridge Berwick Advertiser article

The European Walled Towns (EWT) is the international association for sustainable development of walled towns, walled cities and fo
rtified historic towns in Europe
European Walled towns website listing Berwick upon Tweed

Link to 2 articles in the Berwick Advertiser about a Berwick's visit to the European Walled Towns Association’s AGM in Gmund Sept 2012.
Also a link to the report on Berwick representation in Gmund.
Berwick Advertiser article for Walled Town conference in Malta

Berwick Advertiser article for Berwick to make bid for walled town award

Image from English Heritage site

2010 "Web of Iron"  Exhibition celebrates historic Union Bridge crossing over the Tweed. This Union Chain Bridge at Horncliffe opened in 1820 is the world’s oldest suspension bridge still carrying road traffic.

Berwick Preservation Trust are now looking at "Renewed call for Chain Bridge restoration scheme"

  2009 marked the 150th anniversary of the death of the world-famous
Victorian engineer, Robert Stephenson. Like his father George, of Rocket
fame, Robert Stephenson was born and bred in Northumberland and became a
major railway pioneer who helped establish the foundations of the
modern railways.

Robert Stephenson - Berwick Needs You!

  The Royal Border Bridge, built at Berwick-upon-Tweed by Stephenson in 1850 is one of the greatest pieces of railway architecture in Britain if not the world. A 6 month project of walks, talks, exhibitions, films and much more celebrates this achievement.

Lottery backing for Stephenson commemoration
  Berwick upon Tweed achieves Cittaslow status in 2007 Click on the link to find out more.
There is a detailed map with historical information on the town and the surrounding area you can access.

  The Golden Age of Northumbria project aimed to stimulate local pride, celebrate and raise awareness of the unique Anglo-Saxon and early Christian heritage of north Northumberland. It was organised and presented by over 480 volunteers from a wide variety of archaeological projects, churches, schools, historical re-enactors and local community groups, led by Berwick History Society.

For full details please visit
This project was supported by a £50,000 grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Visit this 2007 summary in the Berwick Advertiser

"Putting Bondington on the Map" by Brian Chappell is a report on the history and archaeology of Bondington
  The Bondington Project was set up by Berwick History Society and Border Archaeological Society, with support from Castlegate Area Residents Association, after a church and human skeletons were found at 21 Castle Terrace in 1998.
2002 Initiative launched to "Put Bondington on the map"
Jan 2005 Old Bondington site giving up its secrets to historians
April 2005 Chronicles of Bondington published
2008 update Bondington report reveals more about medieval village
2012 update Border archaeological society (BAS) under sub committees   - Picture from BAS   

Image from Kate Morison of Coronation park
Image from 'Mouth of the Tweed'
 2002 Berwick Advertiser article link to Bygone Berwick

BERWICK'S proud and eventful history will be celebrated this weekend with two days of nostalgia and a journey down memory lane.

The borough marked National Local History Week with 'Bygone Berwick', a free exhibition in the Guildhall on 11 and 12 May 2002 , featuring displays and exhibits from a large number of local organisations and a programme of short history lectures on a wide variety of subjects including salmon fishing and Berwick;  the Bondington Project;  West Street; Romans in Berwick - a fantasy?; climactic change and local history; Royal Berwick; The Friars of Berwick; Captain William Nesbit and two Berwick Smacks; 1746 riot in Berwick; Queen Victoria's Jubilee.

There were also re-enactments based on a famous Berwick trial, with family participation at regular intervals in the Town Hall Museum. Then on Sunday the Maltings Community Theatre will present two performances of 'Theatre of Varieties', an old tyme music hall performance with contributions from well-known local entertainers.


 Berwick Advertiser A walk down memory lane how Berwick used to look

  Union of the Crowns in 2004 celebrated the 400th anniversary of  the Union of the Crowns of England and Scotland. Click on the link to find out more 

  Royal Charter again in 2004 was the 400th anniversary of the granting of a Royal Charter to the Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed in 1604. Click on this link to find out more and see the gallery presentation by explore Northumberland.

Header image taken from Meg's Mount giving a stunning panorama view of Berwick and the surrounding area. Copyright with Colin Anderson
Community Web Kit provided free by BT